Reader U2

Update – 23rd May

With a little under a week to go, I’ve decided on the 5 optional titles for the read-a-thon. These are in case I struggle with a particular book, and rather than waste time with it, I can swap it out for:

IMG_0419

  • East of West vol.1
  • I, Vampire vol.1 & 2
  • Unwritten vol.1
  • Suburban Glamour

 

 

 

Original Post

Not since January have I updated you with a Reader post(and no, I haven’t forgotten to post under this tag). But it’s only now that I’ve put a few books to bed; the excellent The Sculptor and the rather meh feeling I got from reading the Five Ghosts volume 1 – The Haunting of Fabian Gray.

Before the start of my read-a-thon(see below for details), I’m on my second try at reading the second book in the Southern Reach trilogy. I loved the first book, Annihilation, which I reviewed here but possibly tried to read Authority(book two) without giving myself a breather between. Second time through is feeling far better with that nice rich feel you get when returning to a familiar world.

Read-a-thon: 20 graphic novels in 48 hours

I’ve set my hashtags to #20in48, aligned my TBR pile to graphic novels only and started the countdown to the 31st May.

If you don’t already know, I will be raising money for charity between the 31st May – 1st June for Myaware with a 48hr read-a-thon. I’m raising the money in memory of my father who died 20 years ago this year from complications that were caused from suffering with Myasthenia Gravis.

So much has happened in the last 20 years that thinking back to a time when my father was alive feels like another lifetime. Keeping the memory of that part of my life alive is very important to me and I wanted to do something unique in his memory this year. So if you’re in the mood to join in, please do. Be it a sponsorship, a retweet(I’ll be tweeting the read-a-thon with #20in48) or even reading along with me.

You can find all the details on what I’ll be reading, how to sponsor me etc. via this link.

Leave a Reply

