2014 cooldown

It’s has been the best of times, it has been the worst of times(sorry Charles). 2014 has been far from the worst year of this century. In fact, on a personal level, there have been more ups than downs this year. Those moments that have been less than happy were more about being disappointed by certain external events rather than personal troubles.

2014 has indeed treated me far kinder than the previous few years; I began a new job in product management in February which has been a whirlwind of new experiences. This is a million miles away from what I had been doing for the previous six years and has gone some way to make me mentally stronger.

This will be likely to be my final post of 2014, so excuse me for a moment while I take in the good and not so good from within the posts here. Oh and there could be a few mentions to moments further afield…

Page Count

- find post series here.

Intentions were that movie & book would begin again here on Annihilate Everything. It has been unfortunate that I have yet to get this up and running with much of this being down to my page count problem. From my casual observations I do seem to abandon reading books that exceed 300 pages far more often than shorter books and graphic novels. Whether this has something to do with my attention span waning, as I grow older, or just a mental block that I have yet to overcome..?

In the new year I’ll be looking at a different way of reporting on my reading habits this may mean I drop the ‘Page Count’ moniker for something that feels more suited.

Words Elsewhere

- find post series here.

Have been far more active at Hex Dimension in 2014. The site has been active since July 2013 and this is my first full year of writing there. It’s an eye-opener just how much effort it takes to run a site on this scale. Both Emily and Paul have a good working core with good content being posted daily on Hex Dimension.

Selected pieces – written by me – from 2014:

[Opinion] Exclusivity dulls the Tomb Raider sequel

[Review] Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

[Review] Alien Isolation(PS4)

[Opinion] First gameplay video for Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

The site has recently appointed section heads for which I took the one for the Videogaming section. But that doesn’t mean I won’t be posting in the other sections so you should see words from me populating the site.

Trophy Lore

- Find post series here.

Am in two minds whether to keep this format of posts in the new year. These began as an idea of exploration into PSN trophies. But during the course of this years five posts I’ve only begun to develop this into anything more than a monthly report on trophies gained.

During the next few weeks I’ll be working a formula to either improve on what I have developed or scupper the series for something else.

Games completed in 2014

Tomb Raider Definitive Edition (Feb.)

Infamous Second Son (Apr.)

The Last of Us Remastered (Aug.)

Left Behind DLC (Aug.)

Destiny [soft cap] (Sept.)

Alien: Isolation (Nov.)

The months through May until July are those that are obviously lost to holidays and the summer. I’m still surprised that I don’t complete at least one game during these months…but hey-ho…there’s always next year.

GoodReads & Letterboxd

As diaries go I still like to use both GoodReads and Letterboxd to keep tabs on my reading and movie watching. I’d like to see these sites develop much more than they did in 2014 – both could do with some TLC when it comes to their interfaces – as neither pushed their bounders.

So in 2015 I’ll continue to use these and look for ways to make more use of them if the possibility arises.

Finally…Playstation 4 one year on

Where do I begin!? I love the hardware but it seems very likely that the software developers are lagging behind. From what has been released, over the last 12 months, has only gone to highlight how muted and safe developers have been. Trying too hard not to be seen to fail has only made developers release titles that are either porous with loose ideas or a revision of last generations successes.

I really do hope that 2015 sets standards of development that break the safe boundaries that still remain intact. It may not be a year full of invention but surely it has to be better than 2014’s weak showing? I’d hate to be here next year copying and pasting this paragraph.

So it just comes down to me to say ‘play safe’ and catch you all in 2015!

Leave a Reply

